Skip to main content
A wooden cross sits atop of a page with musical notes.

Music Ministry

Upcoming Workshop: Music Ministers Retreat, Near Occasions of Grace on March 16th, 2024

The Diocesan Choir was formed in 1982. The first choir director was Sr. Mary Ambrose, CSJ, followed by Joyce Knarr. Sharon Fazari is presently the choir director. The principal role of the Diocesan Choir is to lead and support the assembly's song at major Diocesan liturgies.

The purpose of music in the liturgy is to give glory to God and to sanctify God's faithful people. Singing in the liturgy expresses and nurtures our love for God and one another. The singing of liturgical texts adds nobility to the words of prayer. The entire assembly is the primary minister of liturgical music. Choir members from parishes throughout the Diocese of Hamilton gather to rehearse and support the major Diocesan celebrations at the Cathedral Basilica of Christ the King. 

The Diocesan Choir will lead and support the assembly for the following Masses in 2024:

  • Chrism Mass |  Monday, March 25th at 2:00 p.m.
  • Ordination to the Permanent Diaconate | Saturday, June 15th at 11:00 a.m.
  • Ordination of Priests | Saturday, July 20th at 11:00 a.m.

Unity of voices expresses the unity that exists among the members of Christ's body, the Church.

As a result, liturgical space and the choir must cohesively work together. There is limited choir loft space. The choir will sit in both the choir loft and the church assembly (nave).

We ask those who wish to sing in the choir loft to audition. This audition is on Monday, February 12th, 2024. Further information and an audition time will be sent to those indicating that they wish to audition.

The first rehearsal for the Chrism Mass is Monday, February 19th, 2024. Auditions for those who wish to sing in the assembly section will take place at the first rehearsal.

Please register for the Diocesan Choir by clicking here.

The Liturgy Office will send a schedule and further information once registration has closed. Please contact the Liturgy Office ( if you have any questions.

The Liturgical Music Commission is an eight-to-twelve-member group that advises the Bishop of Hamilton through the Liturgy Office, and assists the Bishop of Hamilton in providing workshops and other educational opportunities to assist parishes with regards to Liturgical Music.

The members of the Liturgical Music Commission are:

  • Sharon Fazari; Director of Diocesan Choir
  • Rob Corso; Music Director, Cathedral Basilica of Christ the King, Hamilton, ON.
  • Terrianne Moulton; Kitchener-Waterloo Deanery Representative
  • David Cahill; Brant Deanery Representative
  • Joe Carere; Wellington Deanery Representative
  • Sandra Gould; Hamilton Deanery Representative
  • Dwayne Cahill; Halton Deanery Representative
  • Reverend Monsignor Murray Kroetsch; Ex-Officio President of the Commission
  • Reverend Mr. John Moss; Chairperson
  • Maureen Shaw; Record Keeper

The Liturgical Music Commission held its first meeting in awhile on September 23rd, 2021. During the meeting, members introduced themselves and discussed the history of the Liturgical Music Commission and began to discuss the needs of music ministry in a post-COVID-19 church. In addition, each member provided their input concerning some of the significant needs. The members suggested twenty opportunities to assist music ministers in the Diocese.

Liturgical Music Commission Mandate

A PDF is available to about the Liturgical Music Commission's mission, role, membership, etc.


Deacon John Moss

Coordinator of Liturgy

905-528-7988 Ext. 2232
Send Email

Maureen Shaw

Administrative Assistant

905-528-7988 Ext. 2336
Send Email