Highlights from the 12th Annual Diocesan Mass for Catholic Education

Highlights from the 12th Annual Diocesan Mass for Catholic Education

Late summer weather greeted attendants of this year’s 12th Annual Diocesan Mass in Celebration of Catholic Education, which took place on Wednesday, September 18th, 2019 at the Cathedral Basilica of Christ the King.

Students, parents, current and retired educators, staff, trustees, clergy and members of the Diocesan community gathered for this year’s celebration, with the seven Catholic school boards within the Diocese of Hamilton represented: Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School BoardBruce Grey Catholic District School BoardConseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenirHalton Catholic District School BoardHamilton Wentworth Catholic District School BoardWaterloo Catholic District School Board; and Wellington Catholic District School Board along with St. Jerome’s University

This year’s theme of “Joyful Discipleship” was introduced by Dr. Anne Jamieson, who poignantly stated: I know we know where our churches are on Sunday but where are we as Church on Monday? Throughout our diocese, the baptized are in their workplaces and homes, they are in hospitals and shopping malls, business towers and libraries, driving buses and working their farms. The Church is dispersed. What a privileged place we have in our Catholic schools where we can continue to gather. Continue to share the story of what God has done for us. Continue to share the meal and continue to learn together to be joyful disciples.”  Attendants were also blessed by performances from Members of BR Xpression, led by music director David Tabone, who filled the parish hall with their wonderful vocal talents.

The Eucharistic celebration was presided by His Excellency, Most Reverend Douglas Crosby, OMI, who during his homily stated that “Every child, at every Catholic school, should know that God loves them.” Banners representing each school board were carried by the 2019-2020 HWCDSB Catholic Presidents’ Council, which included Hudson Lucier from Bishop Tonnos, Rebecca White from Bishop Ryan, Joey Bruccoleri from Cardinal Newman, Joshua Bellavia from Cathedral, Madelyn Troisi from St. Jean de Brébeuf, Brooke Murphy from St. Mary and Mary Odisho from St. Thomas More. Leaders from each school board were also presented with a plaque for their continued contribution to Catholic Education. Following Mass, attendants were greeted by a wonderful performance from the CHS Glee Club as the evening wrapped up with dinner and refreshments at Nicholas Mancini Centre.

Click Here for the Full Gallery