2014 Clergy Appointments

2014 Clergy Appointments

The Most Reverend Douglas Crosby, Bishop of Hamilton, announces the following clergy appointments, effective June 25, 2014.


Father Paul Boucher

retires as Pastor of St. John the Baptist Parish, Hamilton

Monsignor Edward Sheridan

retires as Pastor of Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Waterloo

Father Chester Chmurzynski, C.R.

retires as Pastor of St. Anthony Parish, Oakville

We thank them for their long service to the Diocese of Hamilton.



Father Edward (Ted) Hughes

Pastor, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Waterloo

Father John Redmond

Pastor, St. Gregory Parish, Cambridge,
St. Brigid Mission, Ayr

Father Jeff Oehring

Pastor, St. Peter Parish, Durham,
St. Joseph – Markdale,
St. John – Glenelg, St. Paul – Dornoch

Father Peter Ciallella, C.S.

Pastor, St. John the Baptist Parish, Hamilton

Father Czeslaw Kolasa, S.A.C.

Pastor, St. Anthony Parish, Oakville

Father Philip Reilly, C.R.

Pastor, St. Louis Parish, Waterloo


Associate Pastors

Father Mervin Perera

St. Andrew Parish, Oakville

Father David Walter

St. Matthew Parish, Oakville

Father Gordian Okpuruka

St. Mary Parish (and the Missions), Owen Sound


Other Ministries

Father Adrian Lee

Canon Law Studies, Canadian College, Rome, Italy

Father Wojciech Kuzma

Director of Priestly Formation,
(remaining Director of Vocations)

Monsignor Edward Sheridan

Director, Office of Diocesan Charities



Deacon Terry Osmar

St. Patrick Parish, Cambridge
(December 2013)

Deacon Michael Foulger

St. Joseph Parish, Guelph
(December 2013)

Deacon Victor Kubrak

St. Thomas the Apostle Parish, Waterdown
(March 2014)

Deacon Rob Thomas

St. John the Baptist Parish, Burlington
(April 2014)

Deacon Randy Matters

St. Gabriel Parish, Burlington
(May 2014)

Deacon Patrick Crowley

St. James Parish, Oakville

Deacon Brian Dunn

St. Paul the Apostle Parish, Burlington

Deacon John Fioretti

St. Gregory Parish, Cambridge

Deacon Phong Hoang

St. Aloysius Parish, Kitchener,
and Vietnamese Martyrs Mission, Waterloo

Deacon Hugh Evans

St. Dominic Parish, Oakville
(April 2014)

Deacon Alberto Figueredo Galvis

St. Michael Parish, Oakville

Deacon Patrick Morin

Leave of Absence for health reasons from Holy Rosary Parish, Milton

Deacon Peter Gittens

retires from St. John the Baptist Parish, Burlington
(remaining Associate Director of Diaconate Formation Program)


Pastoral Internship

Seminarian Grayson Hope

Mary Mother of God Parish, Oakville

Seminarian David Avila

St. Thomas the Apostle Parish, Waterdown

Seminarian David DeLuca

St. Matthew Parish, Oakville

Seminarian Michael Czesnik

St. Ann Parish, Ancaster

Seminarian Kevin D'Souza

St. Anthony Daniel Parish, Kitchener


Please pray for God's blessings upon these ministries.

Sincerely in Christ and Mary Immaculate,

(Most Rev.) Douglas Crosby, OMI Bishop of Hamilton

Very Rev. Msgr. Murray Kroetsch, VG, PH Chancellor